Who…Who…Who?

My daughter and I have started reading the “Guardians of Ga’Hooleseries written by Kathryn Lasky. You might remember there was an animated movie based on the 15 book series that came out in 2010.  Without going into a review of either we’re having a lot of fun reading them and I have taken to drawing some of the owls from the book in my sketchbook.

Jatt & Jutt are a particularly nasty  pair of birds that figure into the story early on. I did a quick sketch for my daughter:

I liked the simplicity of the sketch and their expressions, but of course could not leave well enough alone.  On another page of my moleskin I painted a more fussy version.  I’m not sure if it’s “better” yet but the story doesn’t end there…

I walk down broadway in NYC most mornings and pass the usual  visual excess, posters, advertisements, etc. The next day after I did the 2nd version of Jatt & Jutt I was walking along my usual route when I was confronted by this…

hmmmm….look familiar?  My god, am I that susceptable on an unconcious level to things I see during the day ? How frightening and wonderful!  A concept hitting me square between the eyes.

and Kourtney is even wearing feathers…

Leave a Reply

