Fear

Previously I posted about Mammal Magazine and my Hemingway contribution to last year’s “Macho Issue”.   The next issue of Mammal is devoted to the topic of Fear.  As bad a pun as it is I can’t help but feel a little apprehensive and yes…fearful about tackling such a  loaded topic. Sort of the artist’s block that occurs from the pressure you feel when  great things or at least something very clever seems expected… you don’t want to fail. Hmmm…maybe I should have done fear of not living up to expectations? In any case below are my preliminary fear sketches from my trusty moleskin.  I latched on to the idea of  a fear of cubicles (cubicle-phobia?).   The fear of cubicle claustrophobia…of being trapped,  dying a slow death in your cubicle. The conditioned rat in a box…    It’s all there.  the one possible hitch is I designed it as a large mural.  With a little bit of luck I can wrangle some type of fold out page  in the next book, if not , my contribuition will be broken up into 2 single pages and two spreads, which would read well too.

FearSketchGroup1FearSketchgroup2

Good

Color Mural Test

Above is entire piece. The I’m still trying  different type treatments for the title at this point but there’s something about the mouse speaking the title that I like.

Space

FearMuralp1

FearMuralp2-3FearMuralp4-5FearMuralp6

2 Responses

  1. Love this. Les, by any chance is your blog syndicated to LiveJournal?

    Thanks!
    Gareth

  2. Update: I just created a LiveJournal feed at http://syndicated.livejournal.com/leskanturek/ (which should start updating with your next post)

Leave a Reply

