Summer Reading Illustration

Illustration for the Books SectionHere is the latest illustration I did for the books section of Newsday to kick off a list of essential summer reading. I’m just beginning to line up my reading for the summer.

I did just finish reading (A book read after Memorial Day qualifies as summer reading, right? ) Alison Bechdel’s Fun Home: A Family Tragicomic. A really great read, Alison explores her relationship growing up with an emotionally distant father and the effect it had on her as she was coming out. Her visual narrative style is perfectly suited for her memoir. After reading it I went out and bought two other copies and sent them to friends.

Along with re-reading Frankenstein I’m open to suggestions for good books graphic or other wise. I’ll post a “what’s on my bookshelf ‘ list which I’m sure will scare the pants off some and prompt recommendations pretty damn quick.

Leave a Reply

